Pisces Zodiac Sign - a Deeper Look

Home Page: Astrology Readings

pisces zodiac sign

In western mythology, life began in the Garden of Eden, in Paradise, in perfect harmony with the divine. Then we became conscious of ourselves as separate human beings through an act of disobedience, and were cast out of Paradise. The Catholic Church still refers in its liturgy to the 'happy fault' which this act of disobedience was, for it gave us the opportunity to become fully human, which in turn led to the coming of God as a human being in order to restore us to Himself, but in a more complete way than we ever would have experienced had we never left Paradise.

Pisces witness to the difficult task of straddling this divide - between the human and the divine. More than any other sign, perhaps, Pisces experiences normal human life as limited, for it excludes so much that can make life more complete. Yet even Pisceans have to live as human beings in a world full of limitations. Coming to terms with the necessity to live in a world separate from Paradise can be an immense problem. Some may attempt to live as if exclusion from Paradise had never happened, and live life in a constant daydream, totally ineffective in the world as it is. Others, however, may learn to live life in the human arena in such a way as to infuse it with divine meaning. Pisces is often associated with music, dance, drama and other forms of art, as these can give a sense that there is something beyond life lived at the simply human level, and can open up people's awareness to a richer reality than that lived in day to day living. Alcohol and drugs can also provide awareness of another dimension, but used unwisely, they are regressive rather than progressive, and represent an escape to the womb rather than an advance to a richer life infused with wealth from a spiritual dimension.

Coming after Aquarius in the zodiacal sequence, Pisces also has ideals, but whereas in Aquarius these are mentally formulated, in Pisces they are formulated more in terms of wanting a feeling connection between people. Aquarius may experience Capricorn as bound by structures. Pisces may experience Aquarius as bound by mentally conceived ideas which inhibit a more inclusive awareness of the connection between people. Compatibility in love with people with either sign strong in their horoscopes may be an issue. In the end, we are made for union with the divine, not for life in a community formed by the ideals of logical analysis.

The above is just a brief sketch of the sort of qualities Pisces should be aiming for. If you are experiencing difficulties on the way, the rest of your birth chart will indicate where these difficulties are, and a consultation would very likely provide clues as to how to deal with them. All aspects of our nature, as represented by the planets in signs and houses of our charts, need to be honoured and respected.

© Richard Hills

This article is copyright. You are welcome to reproduce the article provided you acknowledge as follows:

This article is by Richard Hills - Astrologer. Richard offers birth chart and other astrology readings. Find out more at Astrology Readings, Birth Charts

This page indicates qualities you will have if the zodiac sign of Pisces is prominent, but not necessarily your Sun sign, in your birth chart. If Pisces is your ascendant or Moon sign or if Jupiter or Neptune is prominent these characteristics are likely to show.

The positions of, and relationships between, the planets in your birth chart will show the predispositions you have and how best to use them successfully in life in the world.

A look at Pisces Moon

Would you like an astrology consultation? Please see Astrology Readings

To order a Report (Natal Chart Report, Career Horoscope, Child/Baby Horoscope or Compatibility Horoscope) and see details of half price offers click: Astrology Reports

For an overview of how astrology can help individuals and couples with compatibility issues in their relationships click: Compatibility

See brief sketches of other signs (with links to in-depth articles):
aries taurus gemini cancer leo virgo libra scorpio sagittarius capricorn aquarius pisces